Texting While Driving Ban In Texas: What You Need To Know!
Beginning on September 1, Texas implemented a statewide ban on texting while driving. This was a law signed by Gov. Greg Abbott back in June and will add to the local rules that some municipalities have already adopted when it comes to texting and driving. So, what do you need to know about this texting while driving ban in Texas? Arrive Alive Tour has you covered here!
According to the Texas Department of Transportation, 1 in 5 crashes involve distracted driving. This bill was put in place to help lower that number. While officials have stated that it can be difficult to monitor, they will still be pulling vehicles over that they think are texting while driving, which is punishable by a $99 fine on the first offense.
Garland Police spokesman Pedro Barineau said, “We see it all the time, maybe a car swerving or crossing lanes of traffic. You might think it’s an intoxicated driver, but more and more we’re finding people texting and driving.”
What You Need To Know
Barineau shared some things you need to know regarding the new texting while driving ban in Texas, thanks to Dallas News:
- The law targets people who are on their cellphones reading, writing or sending a text message while driving.
- Law enforcement will be on the lookout for drivers whose heads are down and who are swerving. “That’s a huge indicator that they might be texting and driving.”
- If a driver is stopped at a red light, it’s not a violation to be looking at a phone because they’re not “operating a vehicle” in that moment. But Barineau cautions that texting at a red light can often cause a hazard because drivers don’t notice when the light turns green. “If an officer sees that person is moving on but still texting and driving, they’ll pull them over.”
- Cellphones can be used for GPS navigation and music, though drivers might still get pulled over if officers suspect them of texting. “The key here is keeping your head up and keeping your hands on the wheel.” Officers often see people with a knee on the steering wheel as they text with one hand. “If somebody cuts in front of them then they are immediately at a disadvantage to maneuver out of the way.”
- Instead of texting, seek out hands-free technology, like Bluetooth headsets or dictation functions and apps that type out words spoken aloud.
- Using a cellphone to report an emergency, like a car crash, while driving is OK under the law. “Of course we need to get emergency medical personnel there as quickly as possible.”
- Those who are caught texting and driving will face a fine up to $99 for the first offense and those who’ve previously been convicted could face up to $200.
Bring the Arrive Alive Tour to your area. For more information or details on the drinking and texting while driving simulator program, contact us here!
You must log in to post a comment.